

# SELECTMEN'S MEETING Tremont Town Office Harvey Kelley Meeting Room 6:00 p.m. ~ Monday, January 20, 2015

# MINUTES

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

The selectman's meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

## 2. ROLL CALL:

Selectman Chair Katharine Thurston and selectmen Chris Eaton, Dean Wass, Stewart Murphy, Town Manager, Dana Reed, Recording Secretary, Lynn Wehrfritz, Members of the public; on attached sheet

A. Excused Absences (*if any*) None

## 3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Stewart Murphy and seconded by Dean Wass, <u>to adopt the agenda with no changes</u>. The motion passed unanimously.

## 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

## A. January 5, 2015

A motion was made by Stewart Murphy and seconded by Dean Wass, to amend the minutes as discussed and return them for approval at the next Board of Selectmen's meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

## 5. APPROVAL OF WARRANTS

A motion was made by Stewart Murphy and seconded by Dean Wass, to approve Warrants #56-#61. The motion passed unanimously.

## 6. REGULAR BUSINESS:

**A. Property Tax Foreclosures:** Report of the Tax Collector on the recent automatic foreclosure of 11 tax liens and discussion of the Selectmen's preferred approach to address these and past foreclosures.

A motion was made by Stewart Murphy and seconded by Chris Eaton, to request the Town Treasurer to notify the former owners of all foreclosed properties that all taxes on their former property for tax years 2012 or prior are to be paid within three months and that all 2013 taxes are to be paid within six months or the Board of Selectmen will set a date for the sale of the property. The motioned passed unanimously.

- **B.** Quit Claim Deed: Request of Thomas H. Goodwin and Judy Goodwin for execution of a quit claim deed, now that all past taxes have been paid. Chris Eaton made a motion that the Quit Claim Deed be signed for Thomas H. and Judy Goodwin, seconded by Stewart Murphy. The motion passed unanimously.
- **C. Pre-wetting:** Request of the Town Manager for permission to have Fairfield Equipment install salt brine pre-wetting equipment on one plow truck at a cost of \$2,829.

A motion was made by Chris Eaton to try the pre-wetting, seconded by Stewart Murphy.

The motion passed unanimously.

- **D. Financial Reports:** Town Manager's presentation of the financial statements for the period of July 1, 2014 through December 31, 2014. The manager's report was presented and several questions were asked.
- E. FY16 Budget Preparation: Review of budget requests for:
  - *i. General Administration* The Manager presented an explanatio

The Manager presented an explanation of his budget requests and the formula for preparation of those requests. No questions were asked or action taken.

ii. Protections

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Stewart Murphy to talk to "Hancock County Dispatch", about possible fire and ambulance dispatch coverage. The motion passed unanimously.

iii. Third Party Donations

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Katharine Thurston, to give Third Party Donations 30 days to complete their paperwork to apply for donations. The motion passed on a vote of 3 yes to 1 no, with Stewart Murphy objecting.

#### 7. TOWN MANAGER'S REPORT

A verbal report was given by Dana Reed.

- 8. SUGGESTIONS/COMMENTS FOR NEXT MEETING: Any other items which may come in late and are for the board's information purposes only. No action will be taken, except that the board may request a matter be placed on the next agenda. No suggestions or comments were made.
- **9. NEXT MEETING DATE:** *Possible adoption of a motion to set the date of the next meeting for Monday, February 2.*

A motion was made by Chris Eaton and seconded by Stewart Murphy to set the date for the next selectmen's meeting for February 2, 2015. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **10. ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Katharine Thurston and seconded by Chris Eaton <u>to adjourn the</u> <u>selectmen's meeting at 8:40 p.m.</u> The motion passed unanimously.

**Respectfully submitted,** Lynn Wehrfritz Recording Secretary

Katharine S. Thurston, Chair

Stewart Murphy, Vice Chair

Christopher A. Eaton

Dean Wass